Pupils at Hartford Church of England High School

2019-2020 Holiday Dates

25/03/19

HARTFORD CHURCH OF ENGLAND HIGH SCHOOL NEWSLETTER

NEW BUILDING: IMPACT ON SCHOOL HOLIDAY DATES 2019 – 2020

I am really pleased to update you on the progress of our new building. You will already know that work started on January 2nd 2019 and things have progressed very well since then. Foundations are almost complete and in the next few weeks we will begin to see the outline of the building take shape above ground. From the Humanities rooms on the top floor I am already able to see the footprint of the ground floor spaces: the new canteen, kitchen, drama studio, 2 D&T rooms and the Sports Hall. In spite of the poor weather in the last two weeks or so, things are currently going to plan.

One thing we cannot avoid is the impact of the opening of the new build on our school holiday schedule for 2019 – 2020. Please find below 2 alternative sets of dates for school holidays 2019 – 2020:

  • The first set of dates are those that align with the holiday schedule of most other schools in the Local Authority.

 

  • The second set of dates are those that align with the current timeline for the completion of our new building.

Both of these sets of dates include an extra INSET Day that we are able to claim in exceptional circumstances as well as an indication that Years 7 – 9 will (in effect) have a 2 week half term. We simply cannot have all students in school when the East Building is being decanted (emptied of furniture and fittings) so we have chosen to do this over a half term.

Currently it is likely that the governing body will adopt the second set of dates. However, we want to hold open the possibility that the build can be completed ahead of time which would allow us to set dates which align with the CW&C dates. To this end, the governing body agreed at their meeting on Tuesday 19th March to make a final decision on school holidays for 2019 – 2020 at their meeting on June 24th.

I do hope you can appreciate the difficulties we face in making this decision and our rationale for the delay.

 

In Caritas et Veritas

Mike Holland (Headteacher)

For a printable version of these dates, please click HERE

  

CW&C

ALTERNATIVE

 

AUTUMN TERM

AUTUMN TERM

Monday 2 September          INSET Day

 

Tuesday 3 September          INSET Day

 

Wednesday 4 September     Return to School

 

Friday 25 October               Break for Half Term

 

Monday 4 November           Return to School

 

Friday 20 December            Break for Christmas

 

Monday 2 September          INSET Day

 

Tuesday 3 September          INSET Day

 

Wednesday 4 September     Return to School

 

Friday 25 October               Break for Half Term

 

Monday 4 November           Return to School

 

Friday 20 December            Break for Christmas

 

 

 

SPRING TERM

SPRING TERM

Monday 6 January               Return to School

 

Friday 14 February              INSET Day/half-term

 

Monday 24 February           INSET Day

 

Tuesday 25 February            INSET Day

 

Wednesday 26 February        Return to School

                                         (Years 10 and 11)

 

Monday 2 March                  Return to School

                                         (Years 7, 8 and 9)

 

Friday 3 April                     Break for Easter

 

Monday 6 January               Return to School

 

Friday  21 February             INSET Day/half term

 

Monday 2 March                 INSET Day

 

Tuesday 3 March                INSET Day

 

Wednesday 4 March             Return to School  

                                          (Years 10 and 11)

 

Monday 9 March                  Return to School

                                         (Years 7, 8 and 9)

 

Friday 3 April                     Break for Easter

 

 

SUMMER TERM

SUMMER TERM

Monday 20 April                 Return to School

 

Monday 4 May                   Bank Holiday

 

Friday 22 May                    Break for half-term

 

Monday 1 June                   Return to School

 

Friday 17 July                    Break for Summer

 

Monday 20 July                  INSET Day

 

Monday 20 April                 Return to School

 

Monday 4 May                   Bank Holiday

 

Friday 22 May                    Break for half-term

 

Monday 1 June                   Return to School

 

Friday 17 July                    Break for Summer

 

Monday 20 July                  INSET Day